This is an archive of the 2018-2019 University Catalog.
To access the most recent version, Please visit

Program: Teacher Induction Education Specialist Credential

Moderate/Severe Disabilities

Program Description

The Teacher Induction Education Specialist Credential is a 2-year, individualized, job-embedded system of mentoring, support and professional development beginning in the candidates’ first year of teaching. Candidates complete a 14-unit* program: 6 units in semester one, 1 unit in semesters two and three, and 6 units in semester four. This program is designed for candidates who hold a valid Preliminary Education Specialist Credential. Candidates develop an “Individualized Learning Plan” (ILP) designed to strengthen their professional practice through self-assessment, goal setting and reflection. Candidates complete four “induction” courses centered around the ILP and two “pedagogy” courses designed to build on skills and knowledge acquired through their Preliminary Credential. Candidates in the Induction Credential program must be employed as MS teachers.

*Candidates concurrently enrolled in an M.A. program in Special Education complete a 12-unit Induction program. Contact an advisor for additional information.

Admission into programs leading to licensure and credentialing does not guarantee that students will obtain a license or credential. Licensure and credentialing requirements are set by agencies that are not controlled by or affiliated with the CSU, and requirements can change at any time. For example, licensure or credentialing requirements can include evidence of the right to work in the United States (e.g., Social Security number or tax payer identification number) or successfully passing a criminal background check. Students are responsible for determining whether they can meet licensure or credentialing requirements. The CSU will not refund tuition, fees or any associated costs to students who determine subsequent to admission that they cannot meet licensure or credentialing requirements. Information concerning licensure and credentialing requirements is available from the department.

Program Requirements

1. Induction (8 units)

SPED 614A Learning About Myself as a Professional Educator (1)
SPED 614B Working with Special Education Stakeholders (1)
SPED 628MS Induction and the Individualized Learning Plan in Moderate/Severe Disabilities (3)**
SPED 638 Developing Special Educators as Agents of Change (3)***

**Must be taken the first semester of the program.
***Must be taken the last semester of the program.

2. Pedagogy Courses (6 units)

Pedagogy courses may be used for the M.A. degree. Courses used for the Preliminary Credential cannot be counted toward the Induction Credential.

Select two courses from the following:

Assessment and Instruction

SPED 500 Communication and Early Literacy Development of Young Children with Disabilities (3)
SPED 503MM Curriculum and Instruction in Math and Content Subjects for Learners with Mild/Moderate Disabilities (3)
SPED 625 Adapting Curriculum and Instruction to Facilitate the Development of Language and Academic Skills (3)
SPED 640 Physical and Multiple Disabilities (3)
SPED 642 Students with Multiple and Sensory Impairments (3)
SPED 695A Advanced Behavioral Support (3)

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

SPED 404 Teaching Diverse Learners with Social-Communication Disabilities, Including Autism (3)
SPED 655 Promising Practices and Interventions for Students with Autism (3)

If not taken for the Preliminary Credential.

Additional Requirements for Candidates Who Completed a Level I Education Specialist Credential Program:

Health: HSCI 435, HSCI 465ELM or HSCI 466ADO
Technology: EED 513, EED 515 or EED 602, or SED 514, or SPED 595T (preferred)
Other Requirements: Must maintain a 3.0 GPA, with no course grade lower than “C.”

Total Units Required for the Credential: 14


Department of Special Education
Chair: Kathryn Peckham-Hardin
Education (ED) 1204
(818) 677-2596

Student Learning Outcomes

  1. Ability to reflect on one’s own practice to support student learning and continued professional development.
  2. Advanced professional competencies as identified by the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC).