Family and Consumer Sciences, B.S. (2018-2019 Archive)
Family Studies Option

Notice: The General Education requirements prescribed on this Road Map are based on the Plan R Required Pattern of Courses (GE catalog years 2006-2018). See Catalog Archives for more information.

The Transfer Degree Road Map on this page presumes the completion of lower division General Education, Title 5 (United States History and Government), and lower division core requirements for this major. See General Education Rules for more information. Lower division major requirements can be found by looking at the 4-Year Degree Road Map for this major. Refer to ASSIST for transfer information and articulation of courses taken at California Community Colleges. Verified Associate Degree for Transfer (ADT) STAR Act students should use the ADT/STAR Act Degree Road Map for their major.

Once transfer coursework is evaluated, applicants and admitted students can use the Degree Progress Report/Planner to learn which requirements need to be completed.

To meet residency requirements, students must complete a minimum of 30 units at CSUN: 24 units must be upper division, 12 units in the major and 9 units in General Education.

Transfer Year 1: 1st Semester

Course Units
FCS 300 3
FCS 320 3
FCS 330 3
FCS 340 (meets GE Upper Division) 3
FCS 380 3
Total 15

Transfer Year 1: 2nd Semester

Course Units
FCS 431/L 3/1
FCS 432 3
Family Services Elective Requirement 3
GE Upper Division* 3
Elective** 3
Total 16

Transfer Year 2: 1st Semester

Course Units
FCS 426 3
FCS 436 or CADV 451 3
FCS 485 3
Family and Consumer Sciences Core B Requirement 3
GE Upper Division* 3
Total 15

Transfer Year 2: 2nd Semester

Course Units
FCS 438 3
FCS 441 3
FCS 480 3
Family Services Elective Requirement 3
Elective** 2
Total 14

*If needed, select GE Upper Division courses that also satisfy: (1) IC: Information Competence, (2) GE Comparative Cultural Studies, and/or (3) Title 5 requirements in American History and/or US/State/Local Government.

**If not taken previously, electives will need to be comprised of lower-division FCS core and Family Services requirements.