This is an archive of the 2018-2019 University Catalog.
To access the most recent version, Please visit

Trustees of the California State University

Ex Officio Trustees

  • The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr., Governor of California
  • The Honorable Gavin Newsom, Lieutenant Governor of California
  • The Honorable Anthony Rendon, Speaker of the Assembly
  • The Honorable Tom Torlakson, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Dr. Timothy P. White, Chancellor of The California State University

Officers of the Trustees

  • The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr., President
  • Rebecca D. Eisen, Chair
  • Adam Day, Vice Chair
  • Andrew Jones, Secretary
  • Steve Relyea, Treasurer

Appointed Trustees

Appointments are for a term of eight years, except student, alumni, and faculty trustees whose terms are for two years. Terms expire in the year in parentheses. Names are listed alphabetically.

  • Silas Abrego (2021)
  • Jane W. Carney (2022)
  • Adam Day (2023)
  • Rebecca D. Eisen (2018)
  • Douglas Faigin (2025)
  • Debra S. Farar (2022)
  • Jean P. Firstenberg (2018)
  • Emily Hinton (2019)
  • Lillian Kimbell (2024)
  • Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana (2025)
  • Hugo N. Morales (2020)
  • John Nilon (2018)
  • J. Lawrence Norton (2019)
  • Jorge Reyes Salinas (2018)
  • Romey Sabalius (2019)
  • Lateefah Simon (2019)
  • Peter J. Taylor (2021)

Correspondence with trustees should be sent to: c/o Trustees Secretariat, The California State University, 401 Golden Shore, Long Beach, California 90802-4210.